Daily Archives: July 23, 2011

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Howdy y’all!

So last night was Friday, and while I should probably out doing something super exciting and fun since it’s the weekend, I couldn’t help myself… I baked! I had been craving something sweet all day long, but I really wanted to try something a little different than the usual. So instead of one of my typical go-to recipes, I decided to make Snickerdoodle Cupcakes! The same delicious cinnamon sugar flavor as a Snickerdoodle Cookie, but different texture… and FROSTING! If you like snickerdoodle cookies, or even just cinnamon and sugar, you really really need to try these! I promise you will not be disappointed! I love sweets, but I also don’t feel like getting fat, so of course, I make my family and friends help me eat them, and I think all of us were very happy with the results! Seriously, the cupcakes are already gone, and I have requests for more! So lets get started:

Cupcakes:

You’ll need…

Snickerdoodle Cupcake Ingredients

You’ll need to…

Pre-heat your oven to 350° F. Line a 12-cup cupcake pan. In a small bowl, sift together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

In a small saucepan on very low heat, stir the whipping cream and butter together until the butter is melted. It is VERY important to keep stirring the whole time so it doesn’t scorch on the bottom! Once melted, remove from heat and set aside.

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs and sugar together until thick (this should take a few minutes), and then add the vanilla.

Add the flour mixture to the egg and sugar mixture, and mix until they are blended. Then add the butter and milk mixture and mix until well blended.

Pour the batter into your cupcake pan, filling each cup about 3/4 full, and bake for 15-18 minutes. Use a toothpick to check; if it comes out clean, they are done! Let them cool for 10 minutes in the cupcake pan, then move to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

Frosting:

You’ll need…

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients

You’ll need to…

Cream the butter and cream cheese until smooth. Then add the vanilla and cinnamon and mix it until well blended.

Add powdered sugar slowly until you reach the consistency you like. (I always add a half cup at a time, until I reach the perfect taste and consistency… you can always add more, but you can’t take any out so slow is best! And you can use more or less than 3 cups… it’s all about the consistency that you like!)

Frost your cupcakes once they are COMPLETELY cooled! If you try to frost them before they are cool, the frosting will melt and run!

*Optional- Mix a small amount of extra cinnamon and sugar together in a small prep bowl, and sprinkle over frosted cupcakes. (I use a small hand held strainer and it works perfectly!)

I wish they weren’t gone already!

Ok guys… I know that was a pretty long post, but I promise, it doesn’t take as long as it might seem! And even if it did, these cupcakes are definitely worth it! The frosting is great, but most importantly, the cake is fantastic too! The problem I have with some of the cupcake places around town is that either the frosting is really good but the cake is dry, or the cake is amazing but the frosting is just not very good. This is NOT the case with these– I promise you will like the whole thing!

I hope you all enjoyed reading, and now I hope you go make them for yourself. You will certainly enjoy (and so will your friends and family… that is, if you are nice enough to share)!

Feel free to leave me any questions/comments/suggestions! Thanks for reading 🙂

Love,

Katie

……………………

Here’s the full recipe…

Ingredients

Cake:

1 cup all purpose flour

¾ tsp baking powder

1 ¼ tsp ground cinnamon

1 pinch salt

½ cup whipping cream

4 tbsp (half stick) butter

2 large eggs

1 cup sugar

½ tsp vanilla

Frosting:

8 oz cream cheese

½ cup butter

3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 ¼ tsp ground cinnamon

You’ll need to…

Cake…

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350° F. Line a 12-cup cupcake pan.
  2. In a small bowl, sift together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt and set aside.
  3. In a small saucepan on very low heat, stir the whipping cream and butter together until the butter is melted. Remove from heat and set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, beat eggs and sugar together until thick (a few minutes), and then add the vanilla.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the eggs and sugar mixture and mix until they are blended. Then add the butter and milk mixture and mix until well blended.
  6. Pour batter in cupcake pan, filling each cup about 3/4 full, and bake for 15-18 minutes. Use a toothpick to check; if it comes out clean, they are done!
  7. Let cool for 10 minutes in the cupcake pan, then move to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

Frosting…

  1. Cream the butter and cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Add the vanilla and cinnamon and mix until well blended.
  3. Add powdered sugar slowly until you reach the consistency you like. (I always add a half cup at a time, until I reach the perfect taste and consistency… you can always add more, but you can’t take any out so slow is best!)
  4. Frost your cupcakes once they are COMPLETELY cooled!

*Optional- Mix a small amount of extra cinnamon and sugar together in a small prep bowl, and sprinkle over frosted cupcakes. (I use a small hand held strainer and it works perfectly!)